Month: December 2004

  • This is an interesting
    little dealie from


    Immax3′s

    site. Thankie Lori!

     THREE
    NAMES YOU GO BY:


    • M
      ama
    • Katt
    • Kathie

    THREE SCREEN NAMES YOU
    HAVE HAD:

    • ReddKatt

    • QuiltyKatt
    • Confinkled


    THREE THINGS YOU DISLIKE
    ABOUT YOURSELF:

    • That I am consistently
      inconsistent
    • That at times I am
      impatient with my daughter when it would be better served to take a deep
      breath and be patient
    • Being overweight and
      not conquering the issue


    THREE PARTS OF YOUR
    HERITAGE:


    •  Irish,
      American Indian, and Scottish

    • A single child in a
      single parent home
    • Christian with a
      knowledge of the hand of God and the Holy Spirit on my life for as long as I
      can remember


    THREE THINGS THAT SCARE YOU:

    • Earthquakes *BIG EEK*
    • Other than that very
      little scares me. I don’t live my life in fear of what “might” be, because
      then I would miss enjoying the time I have with what I have been blessed with
      by the Lord.


    THREE OF YOUR EVERYDAY
    ESSENTIALS:

    • English Breakfast Tea
      and now fresh Cappuccinos
    • Constantly talking to
      the Lord as I go about every moment of my day
    • Music


    THREE THINGS YOU ARE WEARING
    RIGHT NOW:

    • Purple sweat pants
    • 2 sets of earrings
    • Purple velour long
      sleeved shirt with purple swirly buttons with a gold dot in the middle


    THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE BANDS
    (or artists (at the moment)):

    • Delirious?
    • Third Day
    • Casting Crowns


    THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE SONGS
    AT PRESENT:

    • Famous One *worship
      song*
    • If We Are His Body
      *Casting Crowns..I think that is the song title*
    • Never Alone *Barlow
      Girl*


    THREE NEW THINGS YOU WANT TO
    TRY IN THE NEXT 12 MONTHS:

     
    Hmm ..wow this one is hard,
    ok, lesee…

    • To be able to offer
      the art classes and eventually home-ec and maybe photography classes,
      specifically for homeschooled kids but the option will be out there to offer
      classes to other children as well.
    • Hard-core Lasagna
      Gardening for my vegetable bed.
    • I want to TRY to lose
      WEIGHT and get FIT, so I can have more energy, do more physical activities
      with my daughter and feel better about myself. First I have to get my foot
      worked on *a break which I believe never healed correctly, sigh*, which will
      possibly mean surgery *wince*.


    THREE THINGS YOU WANT IN A
    RELATIONSHIP (love is a given):

    • Giving of oneself
    • Honesty & Loyalty *go
      hand in hand in my opinion*
    • Sense of humor


    TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE:

    • I love fried calamari.
    • I can usually teach
      myself any skill I apply my hand to trying.
    • I have been to Europe
      three times.

    THREE THINGS YOU JUST
    CAN’T DO
    :

    • Make a fool of myself
      in front of a crowd and laugh it off.
    • Easily forgive someone
      that has betrayed my confidence and my friendship.
    • Purposely hurt
      someone, either physically or emotionally.


    THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE
    HOBBIES:

    • Photography

    • Quilting
    • Woodworking


    THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO
    REALLY BADLY RIGHT NOW:

    • Take a long walk on a
      warm, sunny beach, in a size 10 bathing suit and look AWESOME. **ah, vanity,
      thy name is woman!**
    • Get in the car and
      drive for hours with the music cranked, the summer night air blowing through
      my hair.
    • Have a cup of English
      Toffee Cappuccino *which would mean I couldn’t get to sleep, so no-go to that
      one!*

     


    THREE CAREERS YOU’RE
    CONSIDERING:

    • Teaching homeschoolers
      art part time.
    • I am regretting not
      getting the Masters in Architecture that I started out pursuing. My brain
      keeps batting the possibility back and forth of going back to school for the
      full degree *ain’t gonna happen, though my brain keeps dredging it up!*
    • Hmmm…nothing else at
      the moment!


    THREE PLACES YOU WANT TO GO
    ON VACATION:

    • Europe
    • Asia 

    • Israel


    THREE KID’S NAMES:

    • Sionna
    • Lyesse
    • Loni


    THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO
    BEFORE YOU DIE:

    • Learn to play piano,
      violin and harp, and do it well!

    • See my daughter
      grow up, marry and wonderful man like her dad, and have cute Brenna clone
      babies!
    • Read my Bible in a
      quiet time every day, be consistent, for a year would be great !

     


    Blessings…

                                                 


    Kathie











  •  


     ??? !!! HOW MANY DAYS TIL CHRISTMAS !!! ???


      There is STILL so much left for me to do this week. ARGH. I have lost an entire month somewhere along the line. That so stinks…


        In addition to totally cleaning my house …deep cleaning in some cases, I have wrapped NOTHING    and we justdecorated the main tree last night. We have two more trees to put up also. I have done no baking yet..why am I sitting at this computer!!!


     


    AAHHHHHHHHH



     


       I have to finish the four table runners I am giving as gifts to my MIL and SIL.  I have to finish the snowflake placemats for my MIL *and I am safe saying this on here because neither of them read this site * We have to finish decorating, but I can’t do my family room until I clean up all the messes from my projects, which means  I have to FINISH the projects! I also need to finish lining two curtain panels for my living room, and I need to cut hem the drapes for over top of the windows in the living room also.  I am going to make a big push to finish all of the curtain sewing and table runners tonight. Then I can finish the place mats tomorrow if I don’t get them all done today.


      I am very blessed in that I love my MIL dearly and she is a wonderful person to be around and have as my MIL. She is difficult to buy for in that she is at the stage in her life that she pretty much has everything she needs, and what she does need she buys. I wind up making her gifts that she can and will use. Years ago I made her Christmas placemats which she has used every year since then, but I only made 4 as I made them for her kitchen table. She said the only thing she didn’t like about them was that I didn’t make enough! *G* She wished I had made about 8 so that she could have used them on her dining room table when she has guests.    I thought making her new placemats, and 8 of them this time, would be a good gift for Christmas.


      Of course, when I went to get fabric to make the placemats, I wanted quilted, double sided, blue and white or blue white and silver snowflake fabric.


    Do ya THINK I could find cotton or poly cotton fabric with snowflakes on it ? The answer would be…NO. So, I figured I would buy fabric for backing, blue fabric for the front, batting, and binding and make them for her. I’ll just stamp or stencil the snowflakes on.


      Could I find snowflake stamps or stencils?


      NO.


     Cause it isn’t July and the retailers are retarded. It’s December and I can’t find snowflake stencils or stamps but there was VALENTINE’S DAY CANDY at the registers in Joann ETC yesterday.


      So here it is 2 weeks before Christmas, and I am totally thwarted in the only thing I can think to make for my MIL that I can actually get done in the time left. Yes, I should have started thinking of this months ago, and don’t ask me why I didn’t, but I suppose the immediate is always what I deal with daily and the later on I don’t have time to deal with until IT is an immediate.


     Did that make sense?


     So I start wracking my brain, because other than making my own stencils *yech…talk about time consuming*      I am bumfuzzled as what to do. I go to  Joann ETC and Michael’s in search of ideas, and voila…I find an $8 tub of Foamies shapes, full of cut outs of 3 inch snowflakes in 4 different patterns. The wheels start turning. Aren’t stamps often made from a thick foam ?      Click  CLICK!     I bought the tub of the Foamies snowflakes, glued two of the snowflakes together, glued THAT to a block of wood *I cut down a 2×4* and VOILA! Snowflake stamps! I then tested it on a scrap of the washed, dried and ironed blue cotton fabric I bought for background fabric. It worked!   I then heat set the dried paint with and iron and am going to spray the fabric with a sparkle paint to give it a bit o’ glitz. I will toss the whole shebang into the dryer to heat set that paint and then I can join it all together. I will take pics and show what I did later on…after Christmas most likely.


      Necessity is indeed the mother of invention!


      Dang….


      I pray I get this all done    by tomorrow night. I want to make some biscotti, Challah bread and a yule log for Christmas day!


      Anyone else out there franticly searching for a place to hide???


     


    Blessings…


                                                                                    …Kathie


     



  • …An Awakening

      The
    phone woke me at 1:30 this morning. Ah, I can hear what you are thinking!!
    “10:30!! I am lucky if my kids let me sleep until 6:30!!” :o p

      This
    morning I was up til around 4 a.m. Around 11:15 I called Brenna down from her
    room **no she wasn’t asleep yet** as I remembered the Geminid Meteor shower was
    at its peak last evening. If you have never spent 3 hours hanging out the window
    of your van in subfreezing weather to look for shooting stars, teach your child
    about constellations, the milky way, and the Pleaides,  you are missing out
    on a wonderful opportunity! *G* No sarcasm inserted at all right there. I kept
    thinking over and over how cool to be able to do this with my daughter, with no
    thoughts or repercussions from having a 9 year old awake until 2 a.m. In 6 years
    she may not remember that yesterday we read that the real hill that the Battle
    of Bunker Hill took place on was Beacon’s Hill, or the structure of sentences
    with subjects or predicates, or even that squids and octopi are mollusks, but I
    can guarantee that she will remember that meteor shower, snuggling with her mom
    to stay warm, and the cobra constellation she picked out in the moonless sky.
    Education comes in many forms…

     
    …speaking of which, I will get back to the 10:30 phone call. On the other end
    of the line was my friend Donna. She and her husband are some of our best
    friends. Her daughter is my daughter’s best friend. Her son and middle child,
    are my two favorite teenagers. I didn’t mind Donna waking me. I minded even less
    when I heard the news she had to relay.

       
    Going back a bit over a year ago to a morning when Donna’s brother in law,
    Scott, was found by her sister lying on the floor of their townhouse foyer.
    Scott is a teacher and had been on his way out the door when, we later found
    out, he had a seizure that put him down and out. Lisa had trouble rousing him,
    and when she was able finally able  to do so he had no memory of what had
    happened. Following an ambulance ride, blood tests, MRIs, CAT scans, and a
    myriad of other medical procedures, Scott, in his late 30s, was diagnosed with a
    brain tumor. This diagnosis for any of us would be devastating, but combine it
    with the fact that Scott is the father of two young boys that adore him, the
    main income earner for his family, and a very loved husband and father and
    friend, we all were in shock. Scott’s own mother died several years ago of a
    brain tumor though the kind she had was not the kind he was diagnosed with.
    Scott’s initial diagnosis was of a small tumor located on the outside of his
    brain. More tests, more scans, more brain mapping for neuro surgeons, and then
    surgery was scheduled. When Scott’s head was shaved and his skull cut open , and
    the tumor was revealed. Upon his diagnosis, the tumor was originally mapped at
    the size of a pencil eraser. The tumor was now the size of the yolk of a large
    egg. The doctors removed as much as possible in an 8 hour surgery at Johns
    Hopkins, closed Scott up, and hoped for the best. Testing on the tumor revealed
    that it was benign. Friends and family alike breathed a sign of relief.

      Four
    months later tests showed the tumor had grown back. More than quadrupling its
    original size, the tumor was now the size of a baseball. Surgery was quickly
    scheduled, Scott’s head opened up again, and as much of the tumor was removed as
    possible, which was very little. Where originally the tumor had been on the
    outside of his brain, now it had grown into the brain tissue making much of it
    inoperable. New biopsies revealed the tumor was cancerous and growing at amazing
    speed. The doctors at Hopkins again closed his skull, this time giving little
    hope for family and friends. Radiation was scheduled daily for weeks on end in a
    hope to delay the tumor’s effect on Scott’s basic functions. Doctor’s warned
    that in 25% of the cases of this type of tumor, the radiation had little to no
    effect, and in fact the tumor would continue to increase in size. We all prayed,
    Scott went to radiation treatments and held on to the hope that the doctors
    could heal him. He had been all through this before with his mother just a few
    years before.

      There
    was a difference though, in what happened with his mother and what was happening
    with him. First of all, his mother wasn’t a Christian. Does healing only come to
    those who are Christians? Absolutely not! But hope certainly comes much easier
    to those that know where their future lies. And it also comes easier when God
    has given a word to someone before all of this even started. You see, Scott’s
    wife Lisa was giving a scripture in her prayer time, and a word from the Lord.
    He told her that someone in their family was going to have a tumor and that God
    wanted to heal them. A very specific word. I remember when it happened as Donna
    told me about it, and I remember talking to Lisa about it.

     
    Forward back to Scott’s last surgery.

      The
    Hopkins surgeons closed Scott up, and immediate plans were made to do radiation
    on the tumor to prolong his life. Not heal him, and the tumor was incurable
    through any means known to the doctors.

     Is
    that a lead in line or what?

     
    Donna’s call to me this morning was that the MRI Scott had last week was read by
    the radiologist. It was read by the surgeons. It was read by everyone….

     
    THE TUMOR IS GONE

     
    The impossible has
    been done. God reached down, and keeping the Word of promise that was given to
    Lisa over 2 years ago, He has removed every trace of tumor from Scott’s brain.
    The tumor in the brain matter is completely GONE.

      
    I am spending time today going from tears to laughter, with a good mix of the
    two at the same time.

      What
    a wake up call! I will wake up to this any day!


                                               

                                                          
    Blessings…
     



                                                                                       

    Kathie

    Jehovah Jireh…God Our
    Provider

    Jehovah Rophe…God Our
    Healer

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     


  • And Sew It Goes...



     



            If someone asked me to describe my talents/training/interests,
    the description that would most fit me best would be “Jill of All
    Trades, Mistress of None”. I think I have been like that most of my
    life. I am interested in almost everything , but there is no one thing
    that I have ever been interested in to the exclusion of all else. I
    enjoy building and repairing computers, building websites, gardening,
    herbs, woodworking, sewing, quilting, designing and decorating,
    culinary arts, baking, photography,  writing, drawing, antiquities,
    painting, crazy quilting, bird watching, hiking, camping, biking,
    music, singing, genealogy, scrapbooking, reading, volunteering,
    theatre, crocheting, knitting, costume making, etc. etc. etc. I could
    probably go on for quite a long time, but the above pretty much form
    the core of my interests. Looking at that list makes me look quite
    scattered…


        Yes, it is a good thing to have a broad range of interests, but on
    the negative scale it means that there is no one thing that holds my
    interests intently enough for me to truly master it. I do many things
    well, but there is no one thing that just grabs my interest and holds
    it tightly. One thing I consistently have interest in, yet it varies
    by what I do with it, is sewing. I love to quilt, sew clothes,
    household items, crazy quilting, curtains…I have frequently made
    curtains for friends, family, and even acquaintances *nice way to
    supplement my income!*. Right now, I have 1/2 dozen sewing projects in
    the works. Christmas is a goal for finishing some of them, and New
    Years for what I don’t manage to complete.


      This house has 23 windows, most of them quite large. The curtains on
    all of them have been purchased from thrift stores over the last 3
    years. Not a thing wrong with that, because I have gotten some VERY
    nice curtains, expensive curtains, at great prices because I have
    purchased them used. But now that we are tightening up the design
    elements in the downstairs rooms, I am replacing a good number of
    window dressings.


      My living room isn’t yet painted. Face it, with 13 rooms in the
    house, it is going to take a while. Not to mention the fact that I am
    ANAL about painting. It has to look exactly like what I see in my
    head, or mama ain’t happy. :o p Pitiful I know. That is the reason that
    in the three years we have been in this house I have only painted two
    rooms: the dining room and the breakfast room. Both took incredibly
    long to paint:


    the
    breakfast room because the walls are tongue and groove paneling, and
    oh MAN ALIVE did it take forever to paint all the spaces on the walls
    AND ceiling! The dining room was started right after New Year’s last
    winter, but the plaster walls were so cold that the paint WOULD NOT
    ADHERE and dry correctly! We had to wait until the end of March to
    finish. How LAME is that? But the red looks AWESOME in there.
    It durn sight better, considering including primer it took about 6
    coats. Whew. No more red painting for me. Enjoy it folks!


      The ceiling we painted a metallic gold. You can _just_ see the gold
    in the picture to the left.

     


    Ok, sounds strange, but it looks gooood! I will take pics and post
    them tomorrow. I bought a sheer gold fabric to put on the windows as
    sheers, and I am planning on buying saris to make into curtains for
    the windows. Obviously, the theme in there has leaned towards the
    East. ;o) 


      The living room will probably be the next room to be
    painted.
    I would like to have had it done before Christmas, but I knew better
    than to try it! lol I settled for getting some really pretty burgundy
    tone on tone panels from Tuesday Morning, fro $17.50 a panel. They are
    similar to these, but I just have the panels not the toppers, and more
    burgundy than purple. Pictures will be taken when I finish lining,
    hanging, and steaming them! The regular price through J.C. Penney were
    $70 per PANEL!!! EGADS!!! They weren’t even LINED! I am in the process
    of lining the third of 4 panels right now with a thermal lining
    fabric.


     I
    made
    crinkly gold sheers for the room, like these in this image below,

    and will eventually make balloon


    shades for the windows.


       The windows are probably 150 years old, so the more layers of
    fabric to insulate those puppies the better. :o )

     

     

       


    Yesterday I bought some sheer burgundy fabric for $2 a yard at Joann’s
    *SCORE!!!!*.Similar to this, but the color is more burgundy than
    purple:I
    will be making a scarf swag for the
    top
    of the curtains, and I want to edge each scarf with a beaded fringe.
    Something like one of these would do it for
    me:.

        


    If it is too blasted expensive to buy 12 yards of beaded trim, I guess
    I will buy beads and make my own! Sounds like a winter long project,
    eh? Lessee…36 feet of beaded fringe made by hand…errr…. whew.
    Ok, maybe I will scrounge and hunt til I find it on the cheap. **hopin**
    So that room should be done by Wednesday, save the beading fringe and
    the balloon shades. Joann’s has a pretty off-white moiré fabric for
    the blinds, but that is another $60 or so, so that will have to wait
    til after the turn of the year. I should finish the other projects
    first anywho.


      And then there is the family room. The carpet is dark green, the
    walls will eventually be a textured tan/gold *think sunny but not
    overly so, I want the room bright*. So the colors for the room will be
    the green, add sage to it, purple, and an off white. The love seats we
    picked out are a light tan, nice and neutral. The two chairs we picked
    are an eggplant color, all in a micro suede fabric. This is similar to
    the chair, not exact, and of course I want it upholstered in the
    eggplant colored micro suede..mmm ..buttery soft! I can’t find an
    image of the chair online, but it is from Bassett furniture.
    I
    can’t wait until we can afford to buy them! Right now all we could
    afford to do was get the fabric for the window coverings. I found some
    sheers that are white with leaves scattered on them, and over that is
    going a nice, rich, purple Dupioni silk. UMMY!
    Those
    panels I will also line when I make them. I want some sort of topper
    over them too, but I haven’t planned that out. I need to get the
    panels made first as we need insulation on the windows! 

     

      
    And sew, er…so…I am sewing. And sewing. And sewing.


      Did I mention that I am making gifts for my mother in law, and
    sister in law? I will post pictures of the various projects as I
    finish them. So include with the curtains for my house  the table
    runners and place mats that are slated as gifts for the two
    aforementioned ladies, and I have quite a bit of sewing to do…THIS
    WEEK! EEK!!!


     

    OH…I DID get almost ALL my Christmas cards done TODAY! I love doing
    stuff with the computer printers!

     HOW
    many days is it until Christmas???? !!!!!


      I better get moving…but first to sleep, perchance to dream
    **probably about sewing…ya think???**

     


                                   
    Til later…


                                                   

        
    Kathie



     


  • And
    now a word from the photographer…

     

      
    I love photography.
    LOVE it.

       There is
    something about capturing an image for eternity that appeals to the
    deepest part of me. If I manage to capture an image, and it conveys
    emotion, a sense of a place or a time, a feeling, or causes a certain
    feeling in the viewer, I feel I have accomplished a goal. I love to
    freeze forever a beautiful view that just lifts the innermost part of
    me, a view that fills me with wonder and awe is worthy of sharing. I
    strive to share that sense of awe with others.Or share the feelings of
    beauty, majesty or ennui.

       The memories
    photos evoke never fails to impress me. When looking at photographs of
    people, especially the formal portraits taken in the late 1800s up
    through the 1930s, I unconsciously fill in details of the lives of
    those who are looking into the camera, chin up, eyes bright, shoulders
    squared. When I see documentary photos of wars and soldiers, I feel a
    pang knowing many of those are the
    last
    recorded images for family and friend who sent their kin off with a
    tight hug, kisses and tears. The photographs of flowers cheer and lift
    me with their color and lightness, their texture, their simple
    being.
    I can feel the warmth of the day when the sun is shining in
    a photo, or feel the thunder where there is a rainstorm.

     

     

    I don’t know
    exactly how, or when it happened, but I rarely just take my camera out
    and just shoot…to shoot. There was a time I couldn’t be found
    without a camera in my hand or on my person. I have caught accidents
    and incidents that otherwise would have gone unrecorded. I have caught
    sudden showers, and instant emotions. I am going to return to carrying
    my camera with me where ever I go.

        This is going to
    be remedied Immediately. There are emotions and moments  passing by uncaptured.

       


                              
                       
                     
                
    Until later…

                     
                  


    Kathie



     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • Typhoid
    Mary and Her Kin…

        
     I have an
    inordinate distaste for shopping during the winter months. It has
    nothing to do with the crowds, or the frantic rush of people to out-do
    last year’s gift, buy for that person who you really don’t know what to
    get them, or those who go nuts over the !!!ONE DAY ONLY !!!! or !!!50%
    OFF TODAY ONLY WITH THIS COUPON!!! sales. **Ok, I am not ashamed to
    admit it…”I” often hit those sales. Not necessarily for Christmas
    gifts, but I wait until this time of year for necessary things, or
    replacement of warn out do-dads because of the terrific prices.**

      
    What I take great exception to are those who INSIST on going shopping
    while in the throws of some virulent disease. Why in the heck is it an
    earth-shattering necessity to go out to get underwear when you sound
    like your are coughing up a lung?? Why does one HAVE TO GET that scarf
    from Old Navy??!! Why will their lives NOT BE COMPLETE without that
    Shrek video…**HEY ONLY $11.88**??!!  Why is it people drag out
    their child for milk when the kid has mucus running out of every
    orifice ?? **not to mention the fact that kids sneezing and
    hoarkin’ and honkin’ and having gobs of mucus coming out of their nose
    makes me violently nauseous**
     

      
    Ok…I know people have to provide their kids with food or medicine
    and sometimes you just HAVE to go out. But more often then not people
    just won’t take the time to sit home and let someone else do running
    for them, or just SIT THE FREAK AT HOME until you don’t make others
    ill!

     
    EVERY BLASTED’ TIME myself or my husband or daughter have gotten sick
    for the past 4 years, it has been after we have been shopping! Every
    time I get some virus, it goes into my sinuses and I wind up with a
    nasty sinus infection, then it goes into my chest and I get a nasty
    cough. Last year,  New Year’s Day I went shopping and wound up
    with something that gave me a mild case of pneumonia. Can I just TELL
    YOU how ticked off I was about that? You and I both know that someone
    HAD TO GET THAT HOLIDAY wrapping paper at 75% off. How many people did
    they make violently ill through their thoughtlessness ??? How many
    elderly or young were hospitalized? How many family bread winners lost
    a day’s pay and put their family deeper in debt from their rudeness
    and lack of common sense.

      
    I hate touching shopping carts anymore.  I think I am going to
    start carrying medical gloves and wear masks when shopping from
    November to March, like the people in Hong Kong were doing last year
    when that terrible virus was going around.  Then I want to go
    home and boil the clothing I was wearing. I carry the gel disinfectant
    with me at all times, and I wipe down the shopping car, my hands, the
    cart again, etc. People are just NASTY.

      
    Hey maybe I can start a new trend…You heard it here first. Best
    start buying up boxes of medical gloves and masks. 

     But
    not if I get there before you…. ;oD

     
    Did I mention that last year my daughter got head lice from someone at
    the dance class she takes at the local rec center? *shudder* It makes
    my stomach roll just to think about it. Now, realizing that I don’t
    have my child in public school for a multiple number of reasons **oh
    geez, just typing the word lice makes me itch*, the fact that I put my
    child in a dance class through a local rec center, and it is held at
    the school where she would go if she went to public school irritated
    me to no end. Can you just FEEL the thrill I felt about it? Comon…try
    harder. I know you can feel it from there…

     
    Oh, and it took a ton of work to get rid of the nasty things, then,
    she got them BACK at the time of the recital because whatever back
    stage mom there was, must have gone from the contaminated child to
    Brenna’s head. This year, I am going to have to be a stage mom I
    suppose, or make durn sure that NO ONE touches Brenna’s head except
    me. Once more, I will wind up looking eccentric and freakish in order
    to protect my family. *sigh*.

     
    Something else …I refuse to touch the doors of public bathrooms.I
    now grab a paper-towel, or if it is one of those LOVELY **not**  bathrooms
    where they refuse to put in towels, I use the bottom of my coat or
    shirt to open the door to leave the bathroom. Or my shoulder.

     
    I also won’t touch pens at registers. I carry my own and don’t care if
    I have to stand there five minutes digging for it. I can virtually SEE
    all the fungi and virii crawling all over that little piece of
    plastic.

     
    I have a solution. I say that those who are sniffin’ and hackin’ and
    hoarkin’ and mucusin’ in public, have to yell *or cough or hack*
    UNCLEAN before they approach people. Wear a cloth wrapped round their
    head, and medical gloves.

     
    There should be a little cover that goes over shopping cart handles,
    like there is for toilet seats. Even perhaps a special ” For Virus and
    Fungus Sufferers” cart section. 

     
    Or maybe we can just lock em’ in a room like was done to Typhoid Mary.

     
    OR THEY COULD STAY OUT OF PUBLIC until they aren’t contagious. Maybe
    then my husband wouldn’t have been home sick for the last 3 days. And
    I wouldn’t be fighting a stomach virus. I haven’t had a stomach virus
    in 7 or 8 years. I have taken stock out in Astragalus, Vitamin C and
    colloidal silver.

     
    Ok..its Saturday. And more the fool me…I have a 50% off one item
    coupon for Joann ETC that is only good today. I am going to brave the
    crowds and the various pathogens they carry with them.

     
    I am armed and ready with my disinfectant gel and medical gloves.

     

     


    Blessings…

                                                                                      


    Kathie

     

     

  •  

      Tis the Season
                 …ALREADY?!


      I don’t know about
    y’all but I am SO not ready for the holidays. All of a sudden it is the
    first week of December, and I feel like it should still be the
    beginning of October. I lost 2 months somewhere along the line. I feel
    like I have been incredibly busy, yet also I feel like I haven’t gotten
    a thing done!

      Is
    there anyone else that feels like they have been spinning their wheels
    this Fall? I definitely have been doing a decent amount of schoolwork
    with my daughter, and my aim is to try and get ahead by a week or two
    in the hopes of taking days for crafts, baking and house decorating. I
    would like to invite some friends over and just let the kids play and
    bake cookies. I think all of the kids would appreciate that. I never
    manage to do the amount of baking I would like to.

     
    I always make grand plans in my head to make some nice little gifts for
    friends just as a special “Thank you for being you”, and for Brenna’s
    various teachers, coaches, etc. that she has throughout the year. I
    think I finally have figured out what to make without overdoing
    it…how does this sound?

     
    I want to take small white bags and decorate them with stamps or
    stencils, and put in each one a piece of biscotti, a couple of pieces
    of homemade fudge and some chocolate covered pretzels; fold the top of
    the bag top down, and put some sort of small cutesy thing such as a
    little wreath or a candy cane or such at the top. Just something simple
    but that let’s the person know they were thought of.

     
    I will find my copy of my Coconut Pecan Biscotti recipe. I made it for
    the first time last year and oooo boy it is GOOD. Course if you hate
    coconut and pecans it isn’t for you! lol In that case, enjoy the
    chocolate covered pretzels or fudge. I will post the recipes I use.

      Anyone else out there have some killer holiday recipes to share???

                    

       Nothing says ” Eat a ton of me and add 3 inches to
    your hips” like biscotti! Even so, try this recipe. It will become a
    favorite!

                         Kathie

    Coconut
    Pecan Biscotti

    1/2 C. butter
    3/4 C. brown sugar, packed
    2 large eggs
    3/4 C. sweetened coconut
    2 1/4 C. all-purpose flour
    1 1/2 t. baking powder
    1/4 t. salt
    1 C. (4 ounces) chopped pecans

    Heat over to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheet or line with parchment paper.

    Mix flour, baking powder and salt. Using electric mixer, cream butter and sugar
    in large bowl to blend. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each
    addition. Beat in coconut. On low speed, gradually add flour mixture. Stir in
    pecans.

    Turn dough onto floured work surface and divide in half. Shape each half into
    two-inch wide log the length of a rolling pin. Transfer to cookie sheet, and pat
    down with hands to make dough flat and same thickness along the length.