February 15, 2010

  •   This, That, and Those

    Ahem.

    I won’t start off apologizing for being my usual slacking self on blogging, I am just going to jump in.

    This: is Quinn at 4 weeks old. I still haven’t gotten all the formal pics done I have wanted to do of her. Yes as per mama with newborn, I am in the midst of balancing a newborn’s schedule, homeschool, sleeping, house, cooking, life, yada yada ahem ahem. 

    Q4weeks_02bw_web

    Q4weeks_01B_web

    Q4weeks_04bw_web

    Q4weeks_03_web

    Q4weeks_05V_web

    This last one is my favorite from this set. I think I am going to print a small canvas of this vintage version. If not a canvas definitely a print for the portrait wall that I am planning for the stairway wall in the living room. “Planning” because the wall in the process of being textured to be followed by being painted red.

    That:is a panorama of our front yard. I call it

    Hella-Lotta-Snow

    It may not be hugely obvious here, but the snow is totally covering the foundation of the house, and halfway to the window on the left side of the house. That window’s bottom is at the top of my head. Yeah. We gotz snowz.

    Untitled_Panorama1_web

    Maryland is a “eh” state for snow. Usually. In general our winters are full of grey skies, rain, damp cold and annoying tendancy to mock London but with lower temperatures. This year, however, we have had 4 significant snow storms, 3 of which qualify as “HOLY SCHNIZZLE THIS IS MARYLAND NOT BUFFALO, NY”. Right before Thanksgiving we had 24 inches of snow. WE NEVER have more than a dusting before January! Right before Christmas we had 12 inches fall. So we had snow on the ground for both Thanksgiving and Christmas. Weird and weirder. It snowed a smidge on New Years, when we usually have cold, fog and rain. Not an accumulation but, it was a day of note. Saturday a week ago, we had 32-34 inches of snow fall in 24 hours.

    Pardon my inserting this note: I AM FREAKIN TIRED OF SHOVELING SNOW.

    End Public Service Announcement.

    Its a darn good thing it was four weeks since Quinn was born, or else I wouldn’t be healed up enough to help with the shoveling. The photo doesn’t show fully well but our driveway is long enough to park oh, 7 cars? end to end. And its fairly wide, plus the parking pad portion in front of the garage, the walkway AND the 4 foot deep area the plows tend to leave when clearing our street. Grr. We chose to park at the end of the driveway, shovel a walk path to the vehicles and maintain that. Because. After the 32 inch snow, 3 days later we had another 24 fall. Dude. DUDE. OK for y’all up in the Great White North, you need to understand we do NOT get snow like this. These snowfalls are breaking records all over the place and are considered “100+ year snowfalls”. Well dandy. It also is interesting to note that the year Brenna was born, 1995, we had a record hot summer and a record breaking snowy winter, only second to, you guessed it, THIS year. Now with Quinn’s birth, again a record snowy winter. Wow.

    Sorry about that Maryland. Obviously my breeding is so monumental that the state is freezing over. HA!

    Those: are homemade hamburgers and dinner rolls.

     

    Rolls01_web

    BurgerRolls01_web

    Both which I made the night of the 32/34 inch snow fall. The smell of baking bread was a welcome comfort as the snow fell, we shoveled. It fell, we shoveled again. And again. And again. Ad nauseum. The rolls were mighty tasty! I just made an eggy white bread with honey and instant potato flakes to increase the Mmmmm factor. We finished the last roll today. I think I will make another batch tomorrow. Harford County has already closed schools for tomorrow, due to the still piled up snow and the 3-6+ inches expected to accumulate tonight. Hazardous conditions over the snow melt and black ice. :^/ Since HC called the schools “out” our homeschool co-op is also out for the day. No art and drama class for Brenna tomorrow. 2nd week in a row classes have been out. :^(

    So tomorrow I hope to bake some rolls and perhaps some Oatmeal Lacies (delish cookies!) I also hope to start crocheting Quinn a killer cute hat that I can use to photograph her in. I have been doing lots of web surfing for sewing for little ones and have a super huge itch to get back to doing that. Many blogs bookmarked, many patterns saved. I will photograph things I sew and crochet as I get them done.

    No…really I will. ::blink::

    ~Katt

     


Comments (4)

  • hehe, I live in wisconsin and we traditionally get a lot of snow. But we definitely haven’t gotten that much snow this year! I’d say our biggest snowfall was maybe 12 inches tops. We’ve had one thaw as well, where almost all the snow melted before we got more. Weird. Although I have to admire you for keeping up with the shoveling. When the snow gets that bad around here, the only thing I bother digging out is my car…when I absolutely HAVE to. Beyond that I just wear taller boots

  • I would get taller boots a. if I could find some and b. if I could find some that went to my hips. I guess those would be waders wouldn’t they? lol The snow is arse deep here right now! Well, its falling in on itself now but woof. lol

    This would be the year to have a snowblower. Not worth buying one for one year though! Not at 6-800 bucks. But man I have been coveting the ones the neighbors have.Heh

  • You know I love those pictures!!

  • Your daughter, Quinn, is absolutely adorable.  Those are beautiful photos of her, too. Homemade bread sounds like a wonderful idea… hmmm…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *