May 23, 2007



  • ...How Does
    Your My Garden Grow...


     

     May Blooming Clematis I have finally gotten "into the groove" with my
    gardening this week.

     Side bar: Pass your mouse over the images to see the name of the flower. Nifty lil HTML trick in Frontpage!

        It might be
    because that freebie table and chairs I picked up this week is making me
    feel bad that my gardens out front look like heeyyyyeelll. You would NOT
    believe
    the amount of thistle that is coming up in my gardens. It has to
    be coming in with the mulch from the landfill. Or some jerk is coming in at night and throwing thistle seed into my beds to drive me absolutely loopy. And itchy.

         I am about a
    month late starting the heavy gardening chores.

         At least a
    month. Probably more. I feel like I will never catch up. I never do all those cool things one is supposed to do in Fall to prep the beds for Spring.

         *sigh*.

         I helped
    Michael a wee bit, but he has been hard at weeding and mulchingFlower01sm the beds, starting WAY before I hitched up my britches and got busy.
    The gardens at the top of the driveway look terrific due mainly to his
    attentions. He weeded and
    mulched the beds, which are a rough kidney shape and about 24 feet x 7 feet. I
    went in and thinned out a few plants that were getting out of control and
    pulled out a few things. Each bed contains
    a similar assortment of plantings for symmetry: a
    Japanese lace leaf maple (newly planted 2 years ago and about 4 feet
    tall), Fall blooming perennial mums, hollyhocks, Maximillian sunflowers,
    Black Eyed Susans, tulips, anemones, Irises in yellow, white and pink,
    gold euonymus, creeping juniper, tiger lilies, Easter lilies, a spiky
    ornamental grass, Echinacea, some self-seeded sunflowers *probably sunset
    sunflowers in Fall colors*, Nasturtiums, balloon flowers, and some other things I am sure I am forgetting. I try to plant as many perennials
    as possible and then I fill in with annuals for all-summer blooms. Most of
    what is there I started from seed or small plants I purchased. There is
    a satisfaction that comes from starting plants from seed or from cuttings
    that doesn't come from buying them. For one thing, it is a whole stinkin'
    lot CHEAPER to start from seed or cuttings. Example: I bought one large $5
    pot of impatiens that contains three different colors. Tomorrow I am going
    to take cuttings from the pot of that contains probably 6 large plants and will likely
    have 40 plants plus in about 2 weeks when the babies take root.

      Not bad for five bucks, eh?

      I am going to do the same with
    a large container of fuchsia colored wave petunias, 4
    quart sized Nasturtiums, amd 4 dahlias I bought from a local gal that
    has a greenhouse on her farm. Trimming the plants for rooting cuttings
    will encourage bushier, fuller growth of the plants, too. All in all
    its a win-win situation to root cuttings from existing plants. I plan to
    run up-county to the same farm and pick up a couple of sweet potato vines,
    a couple perennial mums and a few more dahlias to fill in bare spots. Her
    quart plants are only $2 and are a nice size, healthy and grow
    wonderfully in my gardens because they are locally grown from the get-go.
    I also get to do one of my favorite things: support a small, local
    business.

      Today I pulled out probably 100 waist high thistle plants from a flower bed *yes, it really was THAT bad!* along with some evil vining plant that a neighbor I once had called wet weather moss.  I need to look it up and see what its official name is. PITA is what I call it, personally *Pain In The Arse*.  Michael will mulch the bed for me once I finish weeding it. While I was weeding I moved around some plants, planted some of what I had purchased and found that I have a lot of space to fill up. Oy. I don't have much money to spend so I need to get hold of some annuals that will put color in those beds til I grow/buy/trade/steal (hehehe kidding on that one...mebbe) perennials for the large spaces.

       I also cleaned up around the 40 feet of peonies I have in my yard. They are SO pretty when they bloom. Tomorrow I am going to put in stakes and run some twine to help keep them from flopping over. I put in a bunch of Nasturtium seed under the peonies for summer color when the peonies are done *if the seeds come up!*.  I want to also put in something else there that is blooming now. Its a long stretch of plants that need color. I took one of the perennial mums I bought and split it in four pieces and put one of them at either end of the peonies. We will see how they do since they are new plants to me.

      So think of me the next two
    days as I endeavor to finish weeding several flower beds before the
    weekend's rains hit. The gardens need the rain, but drat...its a holiday
    weekend! I could use the time to do more yard work. My veggie bed hasn't
    been touched yet, and it honestly is totally a thistle bed. I HAVE to get
    them up before they set seed, and its going to be a close race. Michael
    has been working on my herb bed...YEAH! I bought basil *oh yeah...I am
    going to take cuttings from those too* , parsley, thyme and lavender from
    Patricia (farm gal) also*. I want to toss some seeds in the beds and see
    if I can get some stuff to come up ...namely calendula. *shrug* Yeah it is
    terribly late to start seed but if I plant them and they flower and I let
    them set seed, I may have volunteers for next year.

     I hate to make lists but I will
    put down a few "plans". Tomorrow we will tackle the herb bed and finish
    that (or revisit it in some cases where the thistle is coming back after
    all Michael's hard work).  This weekend is the Herb Festival at
    Leakin Park in Baltimore. Next weekend is the Darlington Herb Festival
    in our county. I may just go to both and fill my herb bed back up. I lost
    quite a few of my plants so its time for new rosemaries, lavender,
    chamomile, lemon thyme, and well, heck, EVERYTHING. The bed just went to
    pot last year. :^(

      Friday my plan is to tackle
    the veggie bed. I picked up some tomatoes, and eggplants from Patricia
    also. Hey...$2 for 6 good sized plants! Can't beat that! All I need to do
    is pick up a couple Roma tomato and yellow tomato plants and my tomatoes
    are good to go. Then I can plant my cukes, lettuce and beets and pick up 2
    zucchini...or 4. We love zucchini and will grill and eat it every day when
    they are in season! What we don't/can't eat I shred and freeze for making
    zucchini bread come winter. Oh and I can't forget hot peppers! We love
    them. I will even get a few sweet pepper plants this year, though I tend
    to not have good luck with them. Worms. 'Nuff said. :o p

        I will let you
    know how the gardens are a doing after the de-thistlin' and weeding and
    plantin'. Hopefully we will win the battle with the thistle and get lots
    of plants in the ground.

       I might even get brave
    and photograph the thistle hell that is my vegetable bed.

       Lord how embarrassing.
    *turns red*

       So how does my garden
    grow right now? Not with silver bells and cockle shells but with dock a plenty and thistles so many.

      

                                                                                                     
    ~Kathie

     

Comments (6)

  • Ha! I'd laugh my butt off if I wasn't so worn out from reading your post. LOL

    I still haven't decided whether you inspire me or just tire me. heh heh

    Love ya,
    Blue

  • Oh you sound soo busy!! 

  • One day my garden will be as beautiful as yours!

  • I'm so disgusted with our garden efforts, I can't tell you.  Last night we were to plant strawberries for Shavuot.  Brian's rows look like a drunk dug them up, and the dirt was so hard and horrible, and he made no effort to break it up with the shovel, so I was trying to... nevermind.

    Just nevermind.  Best of luck with your endeavors.

  • Could you explain how to do the cuttings?  ...Sounds easy but I don't have a clue how to make them grow.

  • a freind dug up a thistle from his grandmothers house when se moved & planted it in his yard, he didn't know it was a weed. beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories