Month: August 2009

  • To Sleep, Perchance to Dream….

    Or hell just perchance to sleep.
    I have had major problems sleeping for over a year. It comes in waves and is caused by a mishmosh of reasons. Nasty pain in my neck and shoulder and occasionally back is the biggest culprit. I have finally found a combination of herbs that are helping my pain but I am still a bit limited in what I can do without aggravating the old injuries (car accident damaged my back and neck). Unfortunately a side effect of the pain is trouble sleeping and a totally wacked up sleep pattern.
    All this to say that I slept from midnight to 2am last night, then couldn’t get back to sleep until about 5:30. Argh. I have been a bear all day. I am trying to clean my bedroom (and I mean clean, not straighten…its a total disaster, and even that is being far too kind). My house is such a mess because of the issues with my neck and back—pinched nerves really do a number on one’s groove ability to “do”. So the dust is thick in my room as well as a couple of other rooms upstairs that have been sadly lacking in being tended to. I HAVE to get this house in shape  before Quinn arrives in January, and actually way before, because what if I can’t “do” later on in my pregnancy? Not to mention that the holidays are crazy busy at the best of times, and my photography business picks up starting in September and goes on clear through to 2nd or 3rd week of December. I want the major things in the house taken care of before the end of September. The biggest things that are immediate needs are my bedroom and closet, Mike needs to whip his music room back into shape, and there is a bit left to do in Brenna’s bathroom where we renovated. THEN the back bedroom–which right now is at storage point. That will have to be done sooner rather than later, actually, so likely next week I will be working on that. I spent about 2 hours in there the other day and well, it doesn’t look like much of anything was done (hanging head). I can’t believe I let my house get to this point. But my aim is to NOT let it happen again once its whipped back into shape. I don’t expect a showcase home, but not being embarrassed if someone stops by is a nice compromise no?
    Kathie

  • Persnickity Plumbing

    Or hell just perchance to sleep.

    I have had major problems sleeping for over a year. It comes in waves and is caused by a mishmosh of reasons. Nasty pain in my neck and shoulder and occasionally back is the biggest culprit. I have finally found a combination of herbs that are helping my pain but I am still a bit limited in what I can do without aggravating the old injuries (car accident damaged my back and neck). Unfortunately a side effect of the pain is trouble sleeping and a totally wacked up sleep pattern.
    All this to say that I slept from midnight to 2am last night, then couldn’t get back to sleep until about 5:30. Argh. I have been a bear all day. I am trying to clean my bedroom (and I mean clean, not straighten…its a total disaster, and even that is being far too kind). My house is such a mess because of the issues with my neck and back—pinched nerves really do a number on one’s groove ability to “do”. So the dust is thick in my room as well as a couple of other rooms upstairs that have been sadly lacking in being tended to. I HAVE to get this house in shape  before Quinn arrives in January, and actually way before, because what if I can’t “do” later on in my pregnancy? Not to mention that the holidays are crazy busy at the best of times, and my photography business picks up starting in September and goes on clear through to 2nd or 3rd week of December. I want the major things in the house taken care of before the end of September. The biggest things that are immediate needs are my bedroom and closet, Mike needs to whip his music room back into shape, and there is a bit left to do in Brenna’s bathroom where we renovated. THEN the back bedroom–which right now is at storage point. That will have to be done sooner rather than later, actually, so likely next week I will be working on that. I spent about 2 hours in there the other day and well, it doesn’t look like much of anything was done (hanging head). I can’t believe I let my house get to this point. But my aim is to NOT let it happen again once its whipped back into shape. I don’t expect a showcase home, but not being embarrassed if someone stops by is a nice compromise no?

    Til later…wish me luck. I stopped to take a break from cleaning. My plumbing friend is going to come by tomorrow instead of today (YEAH!) so that Michael will be home to help him for whatever need may arise. That gives me a reprieve and helps me mentally SO much. I was having a bit of an emotional meltdown realizing how much I need to straighten to not be embarrassed when someone comes into my bedroom. :^p~~~

    Kathie

    Persnickity Plumbing

    Suddenly the shower in the bathroom attached to our bedroom decided to start leaking from under the water pan.
    Apparently, the type of connections the former owners used when installing said shower will occasionally loosen.

    ???

    I am wondering what is wrong with good old-fashioned plumbing pipe like is in the older part of the house. After all the hell that people went through with the Quest pipe, you would think people would go back to copper and steel piping due to its longevity and trustworthiness.

    Apparently I am mistaken.

    Today our friend Mike who is a plumber is coming over to look into the issue and repair the problem for us. Lord willing it will be an easy repair. He is also going to install the new sink and cabinet in our bathroom. That means I can paint said bathroom and work towards laying the tile floor or have someone else do it. I think the mastic isn’t something I should be fussing with while pregnant, so I may call Brian and find out what he would charge to lay the new floor for me. There is vinyl in there now (blech) and I would much prefer ceramic tile. Vinyl is the bane of my existence I tell you…every piece of vinyl in this house has gotten damaged and is a pain to take care of. Give me good old ceramic tile, slate or stone….something that lasts for half of forever and looks good even 10 years from now. Vinyl that is 10 years old…not so much. At least not so much for those of us that are hard on flooring!

    Now to decide what color to paint the bathroom. I am leaning towards lavender and cream, which will coordinate with the sage green, cream and lavenders/purples that I am slowing incorporating into the bedroom. If only I could lay a wood floor and get rid of the blasted rose carpet. Why the people we bought our house from didn’t believe in neutral carpet colors I have NO idea. Rose upstairs and forest green downstairs. Mostly it works with our color liking, but I would SO prefer wood flooring, or again, stone or tile. Unfortunately with the size of the rooms in this house to flip everything over it would easily cost $20k to refloor the (counting) 6 large rooms, wait…6 large and 1 small, that have carpeting. For people with dust allergies carpeting is a bad call. For people with three furry dogs its a really bad idea. For people with a baby on the way, this people is hating this carpet more and more. Drat.

    Guess when the “ship comes in” the flooring will be one of the first things to change. I keep watching the horizon for that ship…if the tide turns soon perhaps a well laden ship will be able to ride in nicely and bless us. :c)

    Insomnia has me in its grip again tonight…two hours of sleep then I had to get up to eat. Three hours later at 5 am I am still awake. Maybe I will be able to get back to sleep now if I go up and take a Benadryl capsule. I need to get some sleep so I can get up and clean the bathroom for Mike to do his plumbin’ thang today, and also clean the laundry room up so he can get to the pipes through the drop ceiling. Oh and finish cleaning my room which is hell-on-earth because I am massively behind in house maintenance.


    Til late peeps…hope y’all slept better than I did this evening!

  • I Am a Bad Bad Xangan…


    So here are some updates, and I promise to do my best to blog a little every day. Its not like I don’t have anything to blog about…I am just being lazy. Lazy isn’t always good…

    Update on baby: Baby is doing well, I am doing pretty good. I have this whole blood sugar thing where I have to eat every hour and forty five minutes or I crash like an old Ford truck. It was actually getting a bit better, then I think baby went through a growth spurt and here it goes again… Feh. I really am tired of eating… lol
    Ok grouse over.

    GIRL!


    I am trying to carry on with my photography, take care of the Big Ole Farmhouse (with ample help from Michael and Brenna) but its a chore. You don’t realize how much you really “do” until you are kicked in the tush and can’t “do” as you are used to “doing”. Mostly I am exhausted and have little in the way of endurance. It SUCKS is what I am saying. I was the same way when I carried Brenna… just the way my body handles pregnancy I guess.

    OK so that is a small catch up. Its raining here and the 95 degree August temperatures have been culled back to 75 at present. I have been pretty housebound the last week and a half during the day. I can’t handle the heat and humidity, and since the a/c in my van decided to crap out on me, I can’t even drive anywhere during the day while the temps are this high and extreme. It won’t last much longer though, so its all good. :c)