August 25, 2009

  • To Sleep, Perchance to Dream....

    Or hell just perchance to sleep.
    I have had major problems sleeping for over a year. It comes in waves and is caused by a mishmosh of reasons. Nasty pain in my neck and shoulder and occasionally back is the biggest culprit. I have finally found a combination of herbs that are helping my pain but I am still a bit limited in what I can do without aggravating the old injuries (car accident damaged my back and neck). Unfortunately a side effect of the pain is trouble sleeping and a totally wacked up sleep pattern.
    All this to say that I slept from midnight to 2am last night, then couldn't get back to sleep until about 5:30. Argh. I have been a bear all day. I am trying to clean my bedroom (and I mean clean, not straighten...its a total disaster, and even that is being far too kind). My house is such a mess because of the issues with my neck and back---pinched nerves really do a number on one's groove ability to "do". So the dust is thick in my room as well as a couple of other rooms upstairs that have been sadly lacking in being tended to. I HAVE to get this house in shape  before Quinn arrives in January, and actually way before, because what if I can't "do" later on in my pregnancy? Not to mention that the holidays are crazy busy at the best of times, and my photography business picks up starting in September and goes on clear through to 2nd or 3rd week of December. I want the major things in the house taken care of before the end of September. The biggest things that are immediate needs are my bedroom and closet, Mike needs to whip his music room back into shape, and there is a bit left to do in Brenna's bathroom where we renovated. THEN the back bedroom--which right now is at storage point. That will have to be done sooner rather than later, actually, so likely next week I will be working on that. I spent about 2 hours in there the other day and well, it doesn't look like much of anything was done (hanging head). I can't believe I let my house get to this point. But my aim is to NOT let it happen again once its whipped back into shape. I don't expect a showcase home, but not being embarrassed if someone stops by is a nice compromise no?
    Kathie

Comments (2)

  • I didn't sleep much last night either. It makes me cranky.

  • Sorry you can't sleep! You'll probably be insanely jealous but I have been sleeping insanely well lately (and having the craziest most adventurous vivid dreams that are just plain fun, not scary or tiring. Although here I am 2:25 a.m. and I've yet to put myself to bed...

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories