September 18, 2009

  •  

     

    Foto Friday

    I love sunflowers! They are so sunny and happy. The fact that they bloom at the end of the summer when everything else is giving up the ghost is just an extra bonus.

    Usually to see fields of sunflowers we have to drive over the state line into Lancaster County, PA or go up around the top of the Chesapeake Bay onto the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Delaware.

    This year, a farm right up the road from me planted what has to be a hundred acres of sunflowers where the fields border the road. Mr.Calary that owns the farm leases the farm out to a local farmer who instead of corn or soybeans, planted sunflowers as the main crop.

    I don’t know about how much the farmer enjoys the sunflowers but I know that I have heard a lot of people talking about these fields and how pretty they are.

    I made a push today to get to the fields and take pictures before they were harvested, and I am really glad I did.

    Very image heavy post so if you are on slower connection these may take a while to see…

    The mushrooms are from our front yard. :^)

     IMG_0536web

    IMG_0525web

    IMG_0480Cweb

    IMG_0511web

    IMG_0491web

    IMG_0469web

    IMG_0458web

    IMG_0448web

    IMG_0528Bweb

    IMG_0548web

    IMG_0463web

     

Comments (6)

  • Impressive.  Do you specialize in flowers and nature shots? 

  • Those sunflower shots are excellent!

  • @jeremiahsears
    I am a professional photographer that does a wee bit of everything. I have been using nature/still life imaging to create card and wall art over the last year or so —so I have a particular love for that. Flowers and critters tend to be a bit more cooperative than young children or people three sheets to the wind at a wedding reception. hehe So its a lot less stressful to photograph nature. :^)

  • Love the sunflowers! I’ve been trying to grow them but they just don’t come up for me.

  • Those shots are amazing!  I just went there a few times w/the Ranneys, and it is so beautiful

  • I’m loving them pictures you have :) I love me some sunflowers too!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *